# Beaufort County Community College Faculty Senate Minutes

## April 11, 2006

#### Members Present

Albera, Emily	Everett, Surry	Meyer, Judith
Boyles, Dixon	Gipson, Laura	Mills, Diane
Carawan, Mark	Hardee, Caroline	Mullis, Kimberly
Cole, Ben	Huguelet, Tom	Pilson, Peggy
Davis, Mike	Keehnle, Art	Smith, Bill
Dickerson, Kent	Keen, Jackie	Toler, Whiting
Douglas, Renee	Lee, Carolyn	Whitley, Grace Ann
Dunn, Donna	Mattimoe, Tim	Woolard, Kay
Enecks, Dell	McNeil, Lori	

## Call to Order

Judith Meyer, president, called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

#### **Minutes**

Jackie Keen moved that the January 17, 2006 minutes be accepted. The motion was seconded by Mark Carawan. Minutes were approved.

#### Treasurer's Report

Due to the absence of the treasurer, Ted Clayton, the treasurer's report was tabled.

#### Old Business

Faculty Affairs Committee

#### Faculty Member of the Year Plaque

Judy Jennette presented the idea for a plaque that would include both faculty and staff member of the year to the foundation. She is seeking a less expensive plaque.

#### Faculty Salaries

Judith Meyer presented the Faculty Senate recommendation regarding faculty salaries to Dr. McLawhorn. He, in turn, scheduled a budget workshop.

Surry Everett reviewed the information from the budget workshop. Detailed data relating to budgetary items and allocation of funds was presented. The overall message from the workshop is there is no money for additional raises.

One of the primary reasons given for no additional funds is due to the large number of full-time faculty compared to part-time.

When the question arose to staff receiving the same raise as faculty, it was stated that only a few lower wage earners received raises larger than those dictated by the state budget.

The issue of salaries was referred back to Faculty Affairs Committee.

## Faculty Association

Renee Douglas stated that the North Carolina Community College Faculty Association officers came to campus on March to discuss the association and benefits of belonging with faculty members. Approximately twenty faculty attended the meeting, and afterward the NCCCFA officers had lunch with President McLawhorn, Dean Beddard, Meyer, and Douglas.

Anyone interested in more information or joining may browse the website or talk to Renee.

#### Student Affairs Committee

#### New Student Orientation

Pat Walker, Chairperson of the Student Affairs Committee, stated that the committee is scheduled to meet on April 12<sup>th</sup>. Anyone with input should contact her through email and she will share the information at the meeting.

#### Campus Smoking Area

Judith Meyer stated that she presented the faculty's request to move the smoking areas away from entrances to buildings on campus. Dr. McLawhorn stated that he would take the recommendation under advisement.

#### **New Business**

## Election of New Officers

A slate of officers for the 2006 – 2007 year was presented. Nominations were Judith Meyer – President Whiting Toler – Vice President Donna Dunn – Secretary Kent Dickerson – Treasurer Chairperson Faculty Affairs Committee – Mark Carawan Chairperson Institutional Affairs Committee – Grace Ann Whitley Chairperson Student Affairs Committee – Lori McNeil Dell Enecks made a motion to accept the slate of officers as presented. Grace Ann Whitley seconded the motion. The motion carried.

# Spring Social

Judith Meyer asked if the faculty was interested in having a spring social on campus during exam week from 12 to 1 pm on Monday, May 8<sup>th.</sup> It was decided that part-time faculty be included and retiring faculty would be honored.

A committee consisting of Lori McNeil, Donna Dunn, Laura Gipson, Jackie Keene, and Pat Walker volunteered to plan the social. Everyone is asked to bring a dish or contribute money for the event. Everyone was asked to email Donna Dunn or Laura Gipson with their planned food contribution.

## Technology Committee

Whiting Toler stated that a decision had been made to outsource Blackboard support. He also stated there will be an upgrade to Blackboard to 7.0 version.

## Financial Aid Committee

Kay Woolard stated that students will be required to maintain a 2.0 average to continue to receive financial aid.

Judith Meyer stated that 65 students were refused financial aid due to coursework deficiencies or grade point averages. Student will have one semester to improve the grade point average to 2.0 to receive financial aid.

#### Adjournment

Jackie Keen made a motion to adjourn and it was seconded by Renee Douglas. Judith Meyer adjourned the meeting at 1:00 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Laura Gipson Secretary